RSD024 // Nyah-Rock (New 12")
$ 12.99

Label: Rocksteady Disco

The Sol Power All-Stars return to Rocksteady Disco for a collection of Cymande covers with an electronic pan-African twist. Cymande, the storied British funk band with Caribbean roots released a string of stone cold classic albums in the 1970s that have inspired generations of producers, DJs, dancers, and music fans around the globe. They recently reunited and will kick off a US tour in early 2023 alongside the release of the highly anticipated award-winning documentary, Getting it Back. The Sol Power All-Stars pay tribute to Cymande’s legacy by effortlessly blending the raw energy of original afro funk sound with ‘nuff sub and drums to turn out any dance floor. 

“Anthracite” kicks off the release uptempo and ecstatic, complete with frequent collaborator Denise Henderson’s bold and bluesy vocals, with a touch of Daniel Meinecke’s Clavinet and synth funk sprinkled on top. “Getting It Back” comes next, with a darker, psychedelic edge and gorgeous soulful lead vocals from Jean-Francis Varre (Sahel) with Zeek Burse (Worldtown Soundsystem) on backgrounds. The “B-W Parkway Dub” of Anthracite closes the A-side, with enough breaks to make you feel like you’re at The Paradox in 1998.

The flip-side takes it to the Mariana Trench, starting with the effortlessly carnal bump of “Genevieve”, thanks to Zeek Burse’s vocal performance, Will Rast (Antibalas / Funk Ark)’s Farfisa/synths, and the rude horns we’ve come to love from Ibibio crew. Somehow “Genevieve (One More Organ Dub)” takes it even deeper— this one’s for the house dancers, the spirit dancers, and the closed-eyes dancers. Though Meinecke’s mark is all over the record, he puts his foot in this 9 minute dance floor church workout via the Hammond B3.

Housed in a gorgeous full color reverse cardboard jacket with artwork by Michal Rafaj. Cut to HQ wax by Dietrich Schoenneman and pressed at Archer in Detroit. TIP!

Supported by… Layfar, Francois Kevorkian, Aroop Roy, Simbad, Michael the Lion, Eddie C, Eli Soul Clap, JKriv, Jamie 3:26, Ben Gomori, Bill Brewster, Black Belt Jonez, Blair French, Brian Gillespie, Secret Soul Society, Chris Coco, Chrissy, Deep Tenor City, The Silver Rider, , Eva Theotokatou, DJ FLX, Javi Frias, Jesse Walker, Kiko Navarro, Marcel Vogel, Marie Ayme, Delfonic, Matthew Scott, Mr. Mendel
Dazzle Drums, Toribio / Conclave, Tulia Simba, Oliver Dollar, Phat Phil, Roman Martinez, Willie Graff, Zernell, Jerome Derradji, Daz-I-Kue, Applejac, J-Boogie, King Most, Cosmo Baker, Tooli., Eyal (Rabo and Snob), and more.